Home / TRAVEL / Squirrel prepare off, Wife Carrying and other tumble fests

Squirrel prepare off, Wife Carrying and other tumble fests

Looking for something some-more sparkling than pumpkin spice, Oktoberfests and leaf-peeping to shake adult your skeleton this fall?

Consider adding one of these brazen autumnal practice to your calendar: a squirrel prepare off in Arkansas, ukulele festival in Florida, larva races in North Carolina or a annual wife-carrying competition in Maine. For a month of Elktober, you’ll find randy elks bugling their mating calls in Colorado. Or maybe you’d like to spin your feet purple during a winery grape-stomping event.

Here’s a pointless representation of tumble fun around a nation from classics to events that are only a small bit wacky.

———

YUMMY YUMMY

World Championship Squirrel Cook Off, 8th Street Market, Bentonville, Arkansas, Sept. 16, http://www.squirrelcookoff.com/

Whoopie Pie Festival, Hershey Farm Restaurant Inn, Strasburg, Pennsylvania, Sept. 9, https://whoopiepiefestival.com/

Santa Fe Wine Chile Fiesta, Santa Fe, New Mexico, Sept. 27-Oct. 1, https://www.santafewineandchile.org/

Wild Mushroom Celebration, Long Beach Peninsula, Washington, Oct. 1-Nov. 15, http://www.wildmushroomcelebration.com

Kentucky Bourbon Festival, Bardstown, Kentucky, Sept. 11-17, https://www.kybourbonfestival.com/

World Chicken Festival, London, Kentucky, Sept. 21-24, http://chickenfestival.com/ (celebrates Kentucky Fried Chicken owner Colonel Sanders, featuring duck boiled in a world’s largest skillet)

National Shrimp Festival, Gulf Shores, Alabama, Oct. 12-15, http://www.myshrimpfest.com/

Truck Stop Food Truck Rally, Welton Street, Denver, Sept. 30, https://www.truckstoprally.com/

PA Bacon Fest, Easton, Pennsylvania, Nov. 4-5, http://pabaconfest.com/

———

CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL

Woolly Worm Festival, Banner Elk, North Carolina, Oct. 21-22, http://www.woollyworm.com/ (two days of races featuring some-more than 2,000 downy bear caterpillars)

Narrowsburg Honey Bee Fest, Narrowsburg, New York, Sept. 23, http://www.narrowsburghoneybeefest.com/

Estes Park Elk Fest, Estes Park, Colorado, Sept. 30-Oct. 1, http://www.colorado.com/events/estes-park-elk-fest

Alpaca Festival, Buck Brook Alpaca Farm, Roscoe, New York, Sept. 23, https://sullivancatskills.com/event/national-alpaca-day-festival/

Buffalo Roundup, Custer State Park, South Dakota, Sept. 29, http://gfp.sd.gov/state-parks/directory/custer/events/buffalo-roundu http://gfp.sd.

Johnny Morris’ Wonders of Wildlife National Museum Aquarium, Springfield, Missouri, opening Sept. 21, http://www.wondersofwildlife.org/

Trailing of a Sheep Festival, Ketchum and Hailey, Idaho, Oct. 4-8, http://www.trailingofthesheep.org/ (includes march of 1,500 sheep)

———

WACKY AND WONDERFUL

American Wife Carrying Championship, Sunday River Resort, Newry, Maine, Oct. 7, http://www.sundayriver.com/events-and-activities/events-calendar/

Strummin’ Man Ukulele Festival, Panama City, Florida, Oct. 13-15, https://www.standrewsukes.org/

Purple Foot Festival, Casa Larga Vineyards, Fairport, New York, Sept. 17, https://www.casalarga.com/events/purple-foot-festival/ (grape stomping)

Susan B. Anthony corn maze, Stokoe Farms, Scottsville, New York, opening Sept. 23, http://kfdm.com/news/offbeat/corn-maze-at-stokoe-farms-honours-susan http://kfd (maze depicts Anthony, a women’s rights romantic who lived in circuitously Rochester, for 100th anniversary of women’s right to opinion in New York)

Return of a Pumpkin People, Jackson, New Hampshire, via October, http://www.jacksonnh.com/event/1233/Return-of-the-Pumpkin-People (displays of pumpkins dressed as people)

Pumpkin Nights, in Twin Cities, Minnesota; Auburn, California, and Salt Lake City, Oct. 13-Oct. 29 , http://www.pumpkinnights.com / (walking route featuring hundreds of hand-carved, lit-up pumpkins)

Appalachian Mural Trail, towns along a Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia, http://www.muraltrail.com (murals tell stories of communities along a parkway)

———

CLASSICS

Oktoberfest Zinzinnati, Cincinnati, Sept. 15-17, http://www.oktoberfestzinzinnati.com/

Great Vermont Corn Maze, Danville, Vermont, open by Oct. 15. http://www.vermontcornmaze.com (recommended attainment before 1 p.m. to get by massive, formidable maze)

Cranberry festivals: Warrens, Wisconsin, Sept. 22-24, http://www.cranfest.com/ , and Wareham, Massachusetts, Oct. 7-8,

Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Oct. 7-15, http://www.balloonfiesta.com/

National Crafts Cowboy Festival, Silver Dollar City, Branson, Missouri, Sept. 13-Oct. 28, http://www.silverdollarcity.com/theme-park/Festivals/

Circleville Pumpkin Show, Circleville, Ohio, Oct. 18-21, http://www.pumpkinshow.com/

Bridge Day, New River Gorge, West Virginia, Oct. 21, https://officialbridgeday.com/ (participants leap, boyant and rappel from bridge)

Cruisin’ a Coast, Mississippi Gulf Coast, Oct. 1- 8, https://cruisinthecoast.com/ (antique and classical cars)

 

Check Also

Weather not a usually thing that sizzles in Scottsdale

SCOTTSDALE, Arizona — Perry Rea was toiling in a automobile attention in Michigan in a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *